41 – Plans

“Umm…”  You try to think up a way to explain why you are here without getting in trouble.   Then you realize that if Haytham is here on a mission, then maybe he is investigating Ika and the mercenaries.   You need to find out what Haytham’s mission is to be sure.

“My friends and I stumbled across a drug smuggling operation and decided to investigate.  We tracked them to this bar.  We are in the process of collecting enough evidence to go to the Magistrate’s office.“  You added that last part to seem more responsible.   You weren’t going to do anything rash, like deliver cocaine to a smuggler in a dive bar in a bad part of town.

“Wow.  How exciting!   That’s a real Oracle work right there!”   Your hands tightly squeeze the cocaine packet behind your back at the other Sidereal’s patronizing tone.  You are starting to realize why Sasha doesn’t like Haytham.

You take a deep breath and calm yourself down.  You still haven’t figured out what Haytham’s mission is.  “What are you doing here? “

“Me? “  Haytham shrugs.  “You might say that in a roundabout way, I’m investigating your kidnapping.  ”

“Oh!  You mean the mercenaries in the bar?”  Why did no one mentioned to you that there was investigations going on into your kidnapping?  You were the one that was kidnapped.  You have a right to know.

“They didn’t see you, did they?”  Haytham nervously glances back at the bar.

“No.   I was walking Outside of Fate when they came in.”

“Good boy!  I don’t want this to turn into a rescue mission.  Elder Akachi would hang me by my testicles, if anything happened to you.“ Haytham runs his hand though his hair.   “Let’s not push our luck.  You and your little friends should get out of here before you are seen.”

“But, we aren’t done with our investigation!”  And you still need to deliver the cocaine.

“Svante, I know you and your friends are playing a game, but this is serious…”

“A game!”  Your pride is hurt.  “No!  There is really a drug deal going down in the bar. See!”  You hold out the wrapped packet of cocaine.

With a confused look, Haytham exposes the package in your hand.   His eyes widen when he sees what it is.  “It can’t be.”  He pokes his finger into the package and rubs his dust covered fingers together.  “No way!”  He puts his finger to his mouth and tastes the cocaine.  “Shit!  That’s some pure shit.  Where did you get it, Svante?”

“It doesn’t matter where I got it.”   You say, not wanting to tell Haytham about Ika.   “I just need to deliver it to someone inside.”

“You are doing the drug deal?!”  Haytham bursts out laughing.  “Oh gods.  Jupiter sure knows how to pick ‘em!”

“How long does it take to get a bum to deliver something?” Aiko’s annoyed voice fills your ears.   “Do you need me to do it for you?”

“Shit.”   You are running out of time.  “I am not doing a drug deal, I’m just getting rid of it.  Can you deliver this to someone inside the bar?  I can’t do it myself because the mercenaries are looking for me.”

“Shit, if you need to get rid of it, I’ll buy it off of you.”

What would Haytham want with Cocaine?  “Why don’t you just take it inside and we will go home and you can figure out who kidnapped me?”

“Wait!  I have an idea.”  Haytham paces for a moment, mumbling to himself.  “Yes.  That might work.  It’s risky, but then no risk no reward.”

The Oracle turns back to you.  “Svante, I believe you just might be the solution to a problem I’ve been having.   You see, I’ve been trailing these mercenaries for weeks, hoping that they will lead me back to whatever goddess they worship.   “

You are confused.  “How am I supposed to help you track her down?  Can’t you just use charms?”

“No.  Whoever this goddess is, she has been covering her tracks well.  Which makes sense if she works in the Bureau of Destiny.  She knows how Sidereals operate.  That is where you come in.“   He takes you by the shoulders.  “Svante, I need you to deliver the cocaine.”

“What!  No!  The mercenaries are going to see me and try to kidnap me.”

“I know!   And they will take you to the goddess!  See!  The plan is brilliant!”  Haytham looks pleased with himself.

“Except for the me getting kidnapped part.”

“Don’t worry about that.  I’ll be walking outside of fate with you the whole way.   And then when we find the goddess, we will interrogate her and bring her back to Yu Shan.   The bureau rat will be found.   You’ll be safe from any future kidnapping attempts.  And I’ll finally be able to take a bath.”

What do you?

  • Go along with Haytham’s plan. If this goddess is responsible for your and Nanny’s kidnapping, you want some payback
  • Convince Haytham that he should deliver the package. Haytham is crazy if he thinks you are going to get yourself kidnapped again.
  • Go with the original plan of finding a bum to deliver the package. The next bum you find can’t be a Sidereal, too.
  • Other
